Rugby league: NZ Warriors name strongest side for final NRL pre-season hit out against Melbourne Storm

New NZ Warriors coach Andrew Webster has named a strong team for his side's second and final NRL pre-season trial against Melbourne Storm in Christchurch on Sunday.

After a 48-12 victory over Wests Tigers last week - made up of mostly younger players - Webster appears to be showing his hand as to what the Warriors' strongest possible starting side could be.

The quartet of Te Maire Martin, Brayden Wiliame, Jackson Ford and Marcelo Montoya are the only players to back up from last week's win, as the Warriors' first-string players get valuable minutes on the field before the NRL season begins.

Marcelo Montoya against the Tigers.
Marcelo Montoya against the Tigers. Photo credit: Photosport

At fullback, returning signing Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad expectedly takes the No.1 jersey, with Dallin Watene-Zelezniak lining up on the wing opposite Montoya.

Adam Pompey partners Wiliame in the centres, while new arrival Dylan Walker will start on the interchange bench.

The halves pairing is arguably the biggest talking point ahead of the new season, as Martin shifts from halfback into five-eighth to partner Shaun Johnson.

In the forwards, captain Tohu Harris takes the No.13 jersey, while Addin Fonua-Blake makes his first appearance of pre-season.

Fonua-Blake starts alongside new signing Mitchell Barnett in the front row, as Wayde Egan takes the No.9 jersey.

Two more new arrivals, Ford and Marata Niukore line up on the edges either side of Harris.

On the bench, first grade regulars Bunty Afoa, Josh Curran and Bayley Sironen add depth to the side, while impressive youngsters Ronald Volkman, Luke Metcalf, Freddy Lussick and Taine Tuaupiki will also make the most of a chance to impress their new coach.

Sunday's clash will be the Warriors' final pre-season encounter, before they begin their NRL campaign against Newcastle Knights on March 3.

NZ Warriors: 1-Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad, 2-Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, 3-Brayden Wiliame, 4-Adam Pompey, 5-Marcelo Montoya, 6-Te Maire Martin, 7-Shaun Johnson, 8-Addin Fonua-Blake, 9-Wayde Egan, 10-Mitchell Barnett, 11-Jackson Ford, 12-Marata Niukore, 13-Tohu Harris (c)

Interchange: 14-Dylan Walker, 15-Bunty Afoa, 16-Josh Curran, 17-Tom Ale, 18-Ronald Volkman, 20-Luke Metcalf, 21-Freddy Lussick, 22-Taine Tuaupiki, 23-Bayley Sironen, 24-Viliami Vailea, 25-Edward Kosi, 26-Demitric Sifakula