Cricket: Dean Foxcroft, Adi Ashok earn maiden Blackcaps call-ups as Kyle Jamieson returns from injury

The uncapped duo of Dean Foxcroft, and Adi Ashok have been included in New Zealand's Twenty20 squad for the tour of UAE.

Foxcroft, born in South Africa, is a newly qualified player for the Blackcaps, and earns his maiden call-up after impressing for Otago Volts.

The batting all-rounder was crowned NZC's domestic player of the year, after finishing as the leading run-scorer of the Super Smash.

Foxcroft is joined by Auckland leg-spinner Ashok, after he impressed for the Aces in the Super Smash, taking seven wickets at an economy rate of less than sevens run an over.

The pair have been named alongside Jamieson, who was forced to undergo surgery in February after a stress fracture was discovered in his back.

The trio have been included in a new-look 15-strong squad for the three T20s in Dubai, with Foxcroft and Ashok to depart before the tour of England.

That will see the squad expand to 22 players, with the more senior players joining after the completion of The Hundred competition.

"It's always exciting to introduce new players to the Blackcaps environment and especially so when they're on the younger side, as Adi and Dean are," Blackcaps coach Gary Stead said. 

"Dean's been a really consistent performer domestically and that was acknowledged by the awards he picked up in March.

"He's a talented and adaptable batsman who also bowls useful off-spin - so will add to our spinning stocks which are always valued in white-ball cricket.

"Adi's only in his second year of professional cricket, but we've been impressed with his consistency and attitude with the Aces and when he joined New Zealand A and the winter camps. With Ish Sodhi not on the UAE tour it's an opportunity to develop our next leg-spinner.

"Kyle's worked really hard and made great progress to be available for this tour and we're delighted to see him return after such a challenging year. We're all aware of his world-class skills and I know he's really excited to get back with the group."

Blackcaps T20 squad: Tim Southee, Finn Allen, Adi Ashok, Chad Bowes, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Dean Foxcroft, Matt Henry, Cole McConchie, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Will Young.