Live updates: NRL - NZ Warriors v Canberra Raiders from Go Media Stadium Mt Smart

  • 21/07/2023

Live coverage has concluded, please click here for the full wrap

Kia ora, good evening, and welcome to live coverage of this NRL round 21 clash between NZ Warriors and Canberra Raiders, from Go Media Stadium Mt Smart.

With two huge wins over Parramatta Eels and Cronulla Sharks in the last two weeks, the Warriors go again tonight - with victory to lift the Kiwi side up to third on the NRL ladder.

Those last two wins have seen the Warriors play their best football of the season, with 16 tries split across both games.

And with Marata Niukore and Bunty Afoa both returning to the side tonight, fingers will be crossed for a repeat performance.

Rocco Berry against Cronulla Sharks.
Rocco Berry against Cronulla Sharks. Photo credit: Getty Images

The Warriors can take heart from already beating the Raiders once this season when they smashed Canberra 36-14 back in round 15.

On that occasion, the Raiders were playing to celebrate captain Jarrod Croker's 300th NRL match, and perhaps let the occasion get the better of them.

This time though, also playing for their spot in the NRL's top three, don't expect Canberra to roll over so easily.

However, the Raiders boast the worst points differential of the NRL's top eight contenders so far, being the only side in deficit after the first 20 rounds of the season.

The Raiders have conceded a huge 431 points so far this season, with only Gold Coast Titans (433), Redcliffe Dolphins (480), St George Illawarra Dragons (509), Canterbury Bulldogs (549) and Wests Tigers (482) boasting worse defences.

However, the Raiders have still accrued 11 wins in 2023, the same number as the Warriors, making tonight a must-watch affair. 

TAB odds: Warriors $1.41, Raiders $2.80


NZ Warriors: 1-Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad, 2-Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, 3-Rocco Berry, 4-Adam Pompey, 5-Marcelo Montoya, 6-Luke Metcalf, 7-Shaun Johnson, 8-Addin Fonua-Blake, 9-Wayde Egan, 10-Bunty Afoa, 11-Jackson Ford, 12-Marata Niukore, 13-Tohu Harris (c)

Interchange: 14-Dylan Walker, 15-Mitchell Barnett, 18-Bayley Sironen, 20-Josh Curran

Canberra Raiders: 1-Sebastian Kris, 2-Albert Hopoate, 3-Jarrod Croker (c), 4-Matthew Timoko, 5-Jordan Rapana, 6-Jack Wighton, 7-Jamal Fogarty, 8-Josh Papali'i, 9-Zac Woolford, 10-Joseph Tapine, 11-Hudson Young, 12-Elliot Whitehead, 13-Corey Horsburgh

Interchange: 14-Tim Starling, 15-Emre Guler, 16-Pasami Saulo, 17-Ata Mariota