NRL: Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad in, Mitchell Barnett out for NZ Warriors' showdown with Manly Sea Eagles

Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad.
Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad. Photo credit: Getty Images

NZ Warriors welcome back Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad and Bunty Afoa for their NRL clash against manly Sea Eagles in Auckland on Friday.

Nicoll-Klokstad missed last weekend's win over Wests Tigers due to the NRL's concussion protocols, having left the field with a head knock the week prior against Gold Coast Titans. His return means Taine Tuaupiki drops back into the extended bench.

Afoa's addition to the absence of powerhouse Australian forward Mitchell Barnett, who's been deemed unavailable after needing stitches to a laceration below the knee suffered against the Tigers.

Mitchell Barnett.
Mitchell Barnett. Photo credit: Getty Images

Warriors fans can also breathe a sigh of relief at the status of Wayde Egan. He's been cleared of any serious throat injury, after leaving the Tigers game early and being transported to hospital as a precaution.

The Warriors are chasing a sixth consecutive win this weekend for the first time since 2002, when they advanced to their first-ever NRL Grand Final.

Andrew Webster's side sits alone in third spot on the NRL ladder on 34 points with a 14-7 record, including nine wins in its last 11 matches since the Magic Round defeat by Penrith in early May.

The 12th-placed Sea Eagles enter the contest on the back of consecutive defeats, most recently against defending premiers Penrith Panthers.

A sold-out Go Media Stadium Mt Smart will be renamed Daniel Anderson Stadium for the contest, with the entire NRL round dedicated to raising funds for the former Warriors coach, who suffered a catastrophic spinal cord injury late last year.

The match will also be half Shaun Johnson's 250th NRL appearance, while skipper Tohu Harris will chalk up his 99th game for the Warriors.

NZ Warriors: 1-Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad, 2-Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, 3-Rocco Berry, 4-Adam Pompey, 5-Marcelo Montoya, 6-Luke Metcalf, 7-Shaun Johnson, 8-Addin Fonua-Blake, 9-Wayde Egan, 10-Bunty Afoa, 11-Jackson Ford, 12-Marata Niukore, 13-Tohu Harris (c)

Interchange: 14-Dylan Walker, 15-Jazz Tevaga, 16-Bayley Sironen, 17-Josh Curran

Reserves: 18-Tom Ale, 20-Taine Tuaupiki, 21-Freddy Lussick, 22-Edward Kosi, 23-Ronald Volkman

Join Newshub at Friday, 8pm for live updates of NZ Warriors v Manly Sea Eagles

Sign up to receive news updates

By entering your email address, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. Newshub and its affiliates may use your email address to provide updates/news, ads, and offers. To withdraw your consent or learn more about your rights, see the Privacy Policy.