Cricket: Blackcaps, White Ferns stars recognised with selection to ICC Teams of Year

A trio of Blackcaps and a pair of White Ferns have earned selection to the ICC's International Teams of the Year.

Kane Williamson was named in the Men's Test Team of the Year, while Daryl Mitchell was included in the men's one-day international side and Mark Chapman in the men's Twenty20 international XI.

White Ferns star Amelia Kerr earned a spot on both the women's ODI team - alongside compatriot Lea Tahuhu - and the T20 Team of the Year. New Zealand and Australia were the only two teams to feature more than one player in the ODI line-up. 

Teams were identified from selections submitted by the specialist panel of media representatives that make up the ICC Voting Academy.

Daryl Mitchell celebrates a century at the World Cup in India.
Daryl Mitchell celebrates a century at the World Cup in India. Photo credit: Photosport

The panel made their selections based on player performances during the calendar year, nominating their playing XI to include a captain and a wicketkeeper.

After stepping down from the red-ball captaincy, Williamson averaged 57.91 runs over the past year, including a top score of 215 in the second test against Sri Lanka in March.

Mitchell was rewarded for his outstanding World Cup campaign in India, where he was the fifth-highest scorer, compiling 552 runs at an average of 69.00, including centuries in both group-play and semi-final defeats to the hosts.

Chapman was superb with the bat at T20I level, finishing second on the scorers list with 576 runs to his name, behind only India's Suryakumar Yadav (733). His high point came during a stellar tour to Pakistan, where he scored his maiden T20I century.

Allrounder Kerr has consistently been among New Zealand's best with both bat and ball, most recently scoring 72 and taking 2/54 in last month's third ODI against Pakistan. She finished with 154 runs total in the three-match series, along with five wickets, earning the nod as Player of the Series.

Tahuhu has been a fixture leading the NZ bowling attack, becoming the first White Fern to reach 100 ODI wickets during the second match against South Africa in October.

Men's Test Team of the Year: Usman Khawaja (Australia), Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka), Kane Williamson (NZ), Joe Root (England), Travis Head (Australia), Ravindra Jadeja (India), Alex Carey (wk, Australia), Pat Cummins (captain, Australia), R Ashwin (India), Mitchell Starc (Australia), Stuart Broad (England)

Women's ODI Team of the Year: Phoebe Litchfield (Australia), Chamari Athapaththu (captain, Sri Lanka), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Amelia Kerr (NZ), Beth Mooney (wk, Australia), Nat Sciver-Brunt (England), Ash Gardner (Australia), Annabel Sutherland (Australia), Nadine de Klerk (South Africa), Lea Tahuhu (NZ), Nahida Akter (Bangladesh)

Amelia Kerr in action for the White Ferns.
Amelia Kerr in action for the White Ferns. Photo credit: Getty Images

Men's ODI Team of the Year: Rohit Sharma (captain, India), Shubman Gill (India), Travis Head (Australia), Virat Kohli (India), Daryl Mitchell (NZ), Heinrich Klaasen (wk, South Africa), Marco Jansen (South Africa), Adam Zampa (Australia), Mohammed Siraj (India), Kuldeep Yadav (India), Mohammed Shami (India)

Women's T20I Team of the Year: Chamari Athapaththu (captain, Sri Lanka), Beth Mooney (wk, Australia), Laura Wolvaardt (South Africa), Hayley Matthews (West Indies), Nat Sciver-Brunt (England), Amelia Kerr (NZ), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Ash Gardner (Australia), Deepti Sharma (India), Sophie Ecclestone (England), Megan Schutt (Australia)

Men's T20I Team of the Year: Yashasvi Jaiswal (India), Phil Salt (England), Nicholas Pooran (wk, West Indies), Suryakumar Yadav (captain, India), Mark Chapman (NZ), Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe), Alpesh Ramjani (Uganda), Mark Adair (Ireland), Ravi Bishnoi (India), Richard Ngarava (Zimbabwe), Arshdeep Singh (India)