Cricket: Scott Kuggeleijn returns as Blackcaps win toss, bowl in first test against Australia

Scott Kuggeleijn has been recalled and the Blackcaps have named an all-pace attack for the series-opening test against Australia at Wellington's Basin Reserve, as New Zealand won the toss and opted to bowl first.    

The 32-year-old will play his second test after making his debut against England in a 267-run defeat at Mt Maunganui's Bay Oval last year.   

That test saw Kuggeleijn take match figures of 4/161, at an economy rate of 5.96 - just shy of a run-a-ball.   

His return means the Blackcaps enter the test with four specialist seamers, along with captain Tim Southee, Matt Henry and newcomer Will O'Rourke.   

All-rounders Rachin Ravindra and Glenn Phillips will provide spin bowling options if called upon. 

Elsewhere, Will Young has taken the place of Devon Conway at the top of the order after the opener suffered a thumb injury while keeping wicket in the Twenty20 series against Australia.   

Daryl Mitchell has also returned to the playing XI and will bat at No.5 after missing the second test against South Africa and T20 series against Australia to rehabilitate a foot injury.   

Meanwhile, Australia confirmed their playing XI on Wednesday and are unchanged from their defeat to the West Indies in Brisbane at the end of January.    

Blackcaps: 1-Tom Latham, 2-Will Young, 3-Kane Williamson, 4-Rachin Ravindra, 5-Daryl Mitchell, 6-Tom Blundell (wk), 7-Glenn Phillips, 8-Scott Kuggeleijn, 9-Matt Henry, 10-Tim Southee (c), 11-Will O'Rourke   

Australia: 1-Steve Smith, 2-Usman Khawaja, 3-Marnus Labuschagne, 4-Cameron Green, 5-Travis Head, 6-Mitchell Marsh, 7-Alex Carey (wk), 8-Mitchell Starc, 9-Pat Cummins (c), 10-Nathan Lyon, 11-Josh Hazlewood