Cricket: Tim Southee, Kane Williamson in line to play 100th tests as Blackcaps squad to face Australia named

Blackcaps captain Tim Southee and senior batter Kane Williamson are both in line to reach special milestones, after being named in New Zealand's 14-man test squad to face Australia.

Both sitting on 98 tests, the pair will raise their respective centuries - provided they feature in both games of the two-match series.

Stephen Fleming, Daniel Vettori, Brendon McCullum and Ross Taylor are the only other New Zealanders to reach the milestone.

Kane Williamson and Tim Southee in action for the Blackcaps.
Kane Williamson and Tim Southee in action for the Blackcaps. Photo credit: Getty Images

"To play 100 tests for your country is an incredible achievement," said coach Gary Stead. "It takes a huge amount of longevity and skill, and to keep improving and to manage the demands of test cricket over a long period of time is a testament to their character.

"Tim and Kane continue to be brilliant servants of the game in New Zealand, and influential figures in the Blackcaps environment.

"Their achievements at test level speak for themselves and they are undoubtedly two of the greatest players to have ever worn the New Zealand test shirt."

Southee would also become just the four player to reach 100 appearances in test, one-day and T20 formats, behind former Blackcap Ross Taylor, Indian icon Virat Kohli and Aussie legend David Warner.

Northern Districts bowling allrounder Scott Kuggeleijn has been recalled to the squad, after making his test debut against England last year.

He endured a chastening first taste of test cricket, when he took 4/161 in the match, as McCullum's England claimed a 267-run victory at Mt Maunganui.

A season-ending stress fracture for Kyle Jamieson has seen Kuggeleijn recalled, after topping the wicket charts in this season's Plunket Shield, with 22 at an average of 16.40 in eight innings.

Daryl Mitchell has also been named, after missing the Blackcaps' second test victory over South Africa and three match T20 series against Australia to rehabilitate a foot injury.

Despite being named in the T20 squad, Trent Boult was not considered, due to a lack of match fitness in redball cricket. 

Blackcaps squad: Tim Southee (c), Tom Blundell, Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Will O'Rourke, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson, Will Young

Join Newshub at 7pm Wednesday for live updates of the first Blackcaps v Australian T20