Halberg Awards: Kayak champion Dame Lisa Carrington takes third Supreme Award at Auckland's Spark Arena

Kayak queen Dame Lisa Carrington has captured her third Halberg Supreme Award at the annual presentation at Auckland's Spark Arena.

Dame Lisa, 34, has dominated her K1 events for more than a decade, winning five gold medals at three Olympics and crowned world champion 15 times.

Last year, she extended her repertoire beyond individual success to the K4 boat, where she helped Alicia Hoskin, Olivia Brett and Tara Vaughan to victory at Duisberg, Germany.

Dame Lisa Carrington celebrates her third Halberg Supreme Award.
Dame Lisa Carrington celebrates her third Halberg Supreme Award. Photo credit: Photosport

Carrington qualified for supreme consideration by taking out her sixth Sportswoman of the Year award, beating out a quality field that featured world champions Courtney Duncan (motocross) and Ellesse Andrew (track cycling), world swimming medallist Erika Fairweather and last year's overall winner, snowboarder Zoi Sadowski-Synnott.  

Her third title sees her match shot putter Dame Val Adams and rower Rob Waddell.

"Wow," reacted Dame Lisa. "Thank you so much for this award.

"It's always really difficult to know what to say, because there are so many people that do help me stand here and receive these awards. This is more an award for Kayaking NZ, and so, for my team on and off the water, thank you so much.

"I just want to congratulate and wish all the best to the amazing athletes out there on the world stage or just trying to do your best at grassroots. It's a big year and I'm super excited.

"I'm so grateful and privileged to do what I do, so I hope you guys feel the same."

Earlier, Carrington thanked her teammates.

"Our K4 world champs win this year was really special and is one I'll always be proud of," she said. "You three have helped me learn how to work as a team and together we managed to challenge the views on what it takes to win the K4.

"By beating the world powerhouses of kayaking, we changed the script, and showed anything is possible when there is belief, commitment to a cause and accountability.

"You three make me a bettter paddler and person, and I can't wait for the year ahead."

Others considered included track cyclist Aaron Gate, crowned Sportsman of the Year, after claiming the world points crown, along with bronze medals in madison and team pursuit.  

The Black Ferns Sevens repeated their 2018 Team of the Year success, after their 36-game winning streak carried them to world series triumph.

Swimming champion and wheelchair rugby international Cameron Leslie captured his first Para Athlete of the Year trophy, while Dame Lisa's continued dominance has helped mentor Gordon Walker to his fifth Coach of the Year award.  

World junior speed-climbing champion Julian David was named Emerging Talent, while rugby guru Sir Wayne Smith - last year's Coach of the Year for his Black Ferns feats - was took out the Leadership Award.