Netball: Defender Kelly Jackson retains Player of Year honours at Netball NZ Awards

Kelly Jury in action for the Silver Ferns.
Kelly Jury in action for the Silver Ferns. Photo credit: Photosport

Defender Kelly Jackson has repeated her success at the Netball NZ Awards, retaining the Dame Lois Muir Supreme Award as Player of the Year.

Formerly known as Kelly Jury, she shared honours with international teammate Grace Nweke in 2023, but kept her hands on the trophy in her own right this year, starring as Central Pulse co-captain in the ANZ Premiership and continuing her starting role in the Silver Ferns defensive circle.

Midcourt Kate Heffernan was voted Silver Ferns Player of the Year by her peers, while fellow midcourt Maddy Gordon took ANZ Premiership Player of the Year accolades.

New Mystics coach Tia Winikerei was named ANZ Premiership Coach of the Year, after guiding the Auckland side to the title in her first year at the helm, and Mystics defender Carys Stythe took out Aspiring Silver Ferns honours.

Netball NZ award winners were:

Dame Lois Muir Supreme Award: Kelly Jackson

Silver Ferns Player of the Year: Kate Heffernan

Silver Ferns Fan Favourite: Karin Burger

Aspiring Silver Fern: Carys Stythe

Men's Player of the Year: Thomson Matuku

Moment of the Year: Waitākere win first ever U17 boys division

ANZ Premiership Player of the Year: Maddy Gordon

ANZ Premiership Coach of the Year: Tia Winikerei

ANZ Premiership Umpire of the Year: Gareth Fowler

Synergy Hair Netball League Player of the Year: Lisa Putt

Synergy Hair Netball League Coach of the Year: Ngarama Milner-Olsen

Synergy Hair Netball League Umpire of the Year: Caleb Binns

NZ Secondary Schools Player of the Year: Shaquaylah Mahakitau-Monschau

Outstanding Contribution to Netball by a Technical Official: Belinda Clark

Contribution to the NZ Netball Players Association: Bailey Mes & Claire Kersten

Te Tuaka Rau - Silver Ferns Players’ Award: Ameliaranne Ekenasio

Te Rau Mataaho – ANZ Premiership Players’ Award: Peta Toeava

Volunteer Administrator of the Year: Natasha Lake, Central Otago, South Zone

Volunteer Official of the Year: Sue Robertson, Whangarei, Northern Zone

Volunteer Coach of the Year: Kelly Wieczorek, Auckland, Northern Zone

Youth Volunteer of the Year: Jasmine Cox, Christchurch, Mainland

Volunteer Champion of the Year: Noeline Fisher, Kapi Mana, Central Zone