NRL: Injured Wayde Egan, Kurt Capewell named in NZ Warriors line-up to face Melbourne Storm

Injured forwards Wayde Egan and Kurt Capewell have been named in the NZ Warriors line-up to face Melbourne Storm at AAMI Park on Saturday.

Coach Andrew Webster has named the same starting unit that fell to Cronulla Sharks in their season-opener last week, including the Austalian pair that pick up niggles during that hardfought contest.

Wayde Eagan and Kurt Capewell in action against the Sharks.
Wayde Eagan and Kurt Capewell in action against the Sharks. Photo credit: Photosport

Egan had to leave the field with an elbow injury, after becoming trapped under a pile of bodies on the tryline, while Capewell finished the game with sore ribs.

The only change in the extended squad sees Chanel Harris-Tavita replace Jacob Laban, providing extra dummy half cover, should Egan not take the field for kickoff.

Melbourne began their season with a lowscoring 8-0 win over three-time defending champions Penrith Panthers and have not lost to the Warriors at home since Anzac Day 2014. They hold a 32-16 historic advantage in meetings between the two rivals. 

Warriors: 1-Taien Tuaupiki, 2-Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, 3-Roccot Berry, 4-Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, 5-Marcelo Montoya, 6-Luke Metcalf, 7-Shaun Johnson, 8-Addin Fonua-Blake, 9-Wayde Egan, 10-Mitch Barnett, 11-Jackson Foord, 12-Kurt Capewell, 13-Tohu Harris

Interchange: 14-Freddy Lussick, 15-Tom Ale, 16-Bunty Afoa, 17-Dylan Walker, 18-Adam Pompey, 20-Jazz Tevaga, 21-Te Maire Martin, 22-Al Leiataua, 23-Chanel Tavita-Harris

Join Newshub at 9:30pm Saturday for live updates of the Warriors v Storm NRL clash