NRL: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck to start at fullback for NZ Warriors clash with Newcastle Knights, injured trio return

Roger Tuivasa-Sheck of the Warriors looks on during the round one of the 2024 NRL season.
Roger Tuivasa-Sheck of the Warriors looks on during the round one of the 2024 NRL season. Photo credit: Getty Images

Roger Tuivasa-Sheck has been named to start at fullback for the NZ Warriors for their fourth-round clash with the Newcastle Knights in Auckland, with first-choice fullback Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad not cleared from his preseason hamstring injury.   

However even without Nicoll-Klokstad, the Warriors have still named their strongest side of 2024 so far, as they welcome back frontline players Dylan Walker, Marata Niukore and Wayde Egan from their injuries.   

Walker is back on the interchange after missing the Warriors' 18-10 win over Canberra with an ankle complaint, while hooker Egan is set for his second appearance of the season after being forced out of the last two matches with an elbow injury picked up in round one.  

Niukore's only outing this year was the second Preseason Challenge match against the Dolphins on February 24, in which he suffered a minor foot fracture, keeping him out of the first three rounds.  

With Egan, Niukore and Walker included in the playing 17, middle forwards Tom Ale and Jazz Tevaga plus utility Chanel Harris-Tavita move onto the extended bench.  

Adam Pompey moves into the centres for the first time this season with Tuivasa-Sheck's move to the back.   

Taine Tuaupiki, who was playing at fullback while Nicoll-Klokstad is out, is unavailable for selection after suffering a concussion against the Raiders.   

Like the Warriors, the Knights picked up their first win of the season in round three, beating the Melbourne Storm 14-12 in Newcastle.  

Both sides will be eager to string together back-to-back victories.

NZ Warriors: 1-Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, 2-Dallin Watene-Zelzniak, 3-Rocco Berry, 4- Adam Pompey, 5-Marcelo Montoya, 6-Luke Metcalf, 7-Shaun Johnson 8-Addin Fonua-Blake, 9-Wayde Egan, 10-Mitchell Barnett, 11-Jackson Ford, 12-Kurt Capewell, 13-Tohu Harris  

Interchange: 14-Freddy lussick, 15-Marata Niukore, 16-Bunty Afoa, 17-Dylan Walker, 18-Tom Ale, 20-Jazz Tevaga, 21-Chanel Harris-Tavita, 22-Te Maire Martin, 23-Ali Leiataua