Super Rugby Pacific: Week seven team announcements

  • 03/04/2024

Both of the NZ team line-ups for week seven of Super Rugby Pacific. 

Blues v Force  

7:05pm Friday, April 5

Eden Park, Auckland

The Blues will be without a handful of their All Blacks stars this weekend.

Captain Patrick Tuipulotu (concussion protocol), Mark Tele'a (ribs), Stephen Perofeta (shoulder), and Finlay Christie (groin) are out of action against the Western Australians, resulting in eight changes to the starting side which beat Moana Pasifika last weekend.

A new halves combination sees Taufa Funaki start at halfback and Harry Plummer at pivot, while Lucas Cashmore, nephew of former Blues fullback, Adrian Cashmore is a potential debutant off the bench.

Corey Evans joins Rieko Ioane in the midfield on Friday night while AJ Lam assumes the right wing. Cole Forbes gets his first start in the Blues jersey after some impressive performances off the bench.

Blues: 1-Ofa Tu'ungafasi, 2-Ricky Riccitelli, 3-Angus Ta'avao, 4- Josh Beehre, 5-Laghlan McWhannell, 6-Akira Ioane, 7-Dalton Papli'i, 8-Hoskins Sotutu, 9-Taufa Funaki, 10-Harry Plummer, 11-Caleb Clarke, 12-Bryce Heem, 13-Rieko Ioane, 14-Adrian Lam, 15-Cole Forbes

Reserves: 16-Soane Vikena, 17-Joshua Fusitu'a, 18-Marcel Renata, 19-Anton Segner, 20-Adrian Choat, 21-Sam Nock, 22-Lucas Cashmore, 23-Caleb Tangitau

Chiefs v Moana Pasifika

7:05pm Saturday, April 6

FMG Stadium, Waikato

The Chiefs have overhauled their starting XV for Saturday's showdown, as they look to bounce back from defeat to the Crusaders.

Coach Clayton McMillan has made 13 changes to last weekend's run-on side, including the return of All Blacks pivot Damian McKenzie.

Winger Etene Nanai-Seturo and prop Ollie Norris will celebrate their 50th games for the franchise.

Chiefs: 1-Ollie Norris, 2-Samisoni Taukei’aho, 3- Reuben O’Neill, 4-Jimmy Tupou, 5-Tupou Vaa'i, 6-Samipeni Finau 7-Simon Parker, 8-Wallace Sititi, 9-Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 10-Damian McKenzie, 11-Peniasi Malimali, 12-Rameka Poihipi (captain), 13- Daniel Rona, 14-Emoni Narawa, 15-Etene Nanai-Seturo 

Reserves: 16-Bradley Slater, 17-Jared Proffit, 18-Sione Ahio, 19- Naitoa Ah Kuoi, 20- Kaylum Boshier, 21-Cortez Ratima, 22-Josh Ioane, 23- Anton Lienert-Brown

Join Newshub for live updates of this weekend's Super Rugby Pacific games