Rugby League: Warriors forward Capewell earns Queensland State of Origin recall, Barnett remains with NSW

Kurt Capewell.
Kurt Capewell. Photo credit: Getty Images

NZ Warriors forward Kurt Capewell has earned a call-up to the Queensland squad for the second match of this year's State of Origin series at the Melbourne Cricket Ground next Wednesday.

It will be Capewell's 10th Origin game and his first since game three of the 2022 series. He's currently playing his maiden season for the Warriors after inking a three-year deal. 

Fellow forward Mitchell Barnett remains in the NSW squad. He was selected for game one but was overlooked required for the matchday side.

Felise Kaufusi has been elevated into the 17 for the Maroons, bringing veteran centre Dane Gagai in as 18th man.

Blues coach Michael Maguire has made five changes to his squad, as they look to salvage the series after a heavy defeat n game one in Sydney.

Mitchell Moses has been chosen as the Blues halfback, with Nicho Hynes dropped. 

Latrell Mitchell will make his return to the State of Origin arena, being selected at centre for the suspended Joseph Sua'ali'i.

Sydney's Connor Watson and Penrith's Dylan Edwards have been named in the starting 17 to make their debuts. 

Game two kicks off June 26.

State of Origin squads for game two:

Queensland: Reece Walsh, Xavier Coates, Valentine Holmes, Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow, Murray Taulagi, Tom Dearden, Daly Cherry-Evans; Reuben Cotter, Ben Hunt, Lindsay Collins, Jaydn Su'A, Jeremiah Nanai, Patrick Carrigan. Interchange: Harry Grant, Moeaki Fotuaika, Felise Kaufusi, Kurt Capewell. Reserves: Dane Gagai, Heilum Luki, Trent Loiero.

New South Wales: Dylan Edwards, Brian To'o, Stephen Crichton, Latrell Mitchell, Zac Lomax, Jarome Luai, Mitch Moses; Jake Trbojevic (c), Reece Robson, Payne Haas, Liam Martin, Angus Crichton, Cameron Murray. Interchange: Connor Watson, Isaah Yeo, Haumole Olakau'atu, Spencer Leniu. Reserves: Mitchell Barnett, Cameron McInnes, Luke Keary.