List of New Zealand's visa waiver countries

Visitors from these countries don't need a visa before travelling to Aotearoa.
Visitors from these countries don't need a visa before travelling to Aotearoa. Photo credit: Getty Images/Newshub.

In October, requirements will change for people from several nations planning to visit New Zealand.

An Electronic Travel Authority (ETV) along with a International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy will be introduced.

The visa waiver applies if visitors intend on staying for three months or less, or are visiting for six months or less and are British citizens.

If someone is travelling to Aotearoa for any medical reasons, including a consultation, a full visa must be obtained.

Here’s a list of New Zealand visa waiver countries:

  • Andorra
  • Argentina
  • Austria
  • Bahrain
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia (citizens only)
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hong Kong (residents with HKSAR or British National (Overseas) passports only)
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Korea (South)
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia (citizens only)
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania (citizens only)
  • Luxembourg
  • Macau (Macau Special Administrative Region passports only)
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Poland
  • Portugal (with the right to live permanently in Portugal)
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Slovak Republic
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan (permanent residents only)
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom (must have the right to reside permanently in the United Kingdom)
  • United States of America (includes USA nationals)
  • Uruguay
  • Vatican City

If you have any questions, contact Immigration New Zealand via their website.