Coronavirus: Kiwis amongst those banned from entering Japan until further notice

New Zealand is one of 73 countries affected by the country's new restrictions.
New Zealand is one of 73 countries affected by the country's new restrictions. Photo credit: Getty Images

Amid the COVID-19 pandemic the Japanese government has introduced tough new restrictions blocking visitors from countries including the US, Canada, China, the UK, Australia and New Zealand.

Non-Japanese travellers who have even visited any of the 73 countries on the list within 14 days of arriving in Japan will also not be allowed to enter.

Japanese citizens in New Zealand have been emailed by their embassy with the new rules, which do note "special circumstances" may allow entry. 

Japan has also raised the travel alert level for 49 of those countries, urging Japanese nationals to avoid any travel to them. Japanese citizens returning from any country on the list will have to undergo PCR coronavirus testing and be quarantined for 14 days when they enter Japan.

Travellers who have visited any of the following countries within 14 days of arriving in Japan will be refused entry:


Brunei, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Macau, Malaysia, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam


Australia, New Zealand

North America:

Canada, United States

South America and the Caribbean:

Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Dominica, Ecuador, Panama


Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Vatican

Middle East:

Bahrain, Iran, Israel, Turkey


Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Egypt, Mauritius, Morocco

The restrictions go into force from midnight Saturday morning (Japan Standard Time) and the government has not set an end date for them.

Inbound air travel will be limited to Tokyo Narita or Osaka Kansai international airports. Ship transportation of passengers from China and the Republic of Korea will also be suspended.