Sexual harassment 'Silence Breakers' named as TIME's 2017 Person of the Year

  • 07/12/2017

Time magazine has named the the 'Silence Breakers', the social movement aimed at raising awareness about sexual harassment and assault, as its 'person of the year' for 2017.

The movement is epitomised by the #MeToo social media hashtag, through which people made their accusations public and shared their own stories of assault and harassment.

The recognition comes amid a wave of public allegations of sexual misconduct that have targeted some of the most prominent men in US politics, media and entertainment, leading to multiple firings and investigations.

Sexual harassment 'Silence Breakers' named as TIME's 2017 Person of the Year
Photo credit: TIME

Featured on the magazine's cover are actress Ashley Judd, singer Taylor Swift, former Uber engineer Susan Fowler, Visa lobbyist Adama Iwu, Mexican agricultural worker Isabel Pascual, and one woman whose face cannot be seen. All of the women have recently stood up to sexual harassment, bar the unidentified woman - who could be a representation of all the others.

"This is the fastest moving social change we've seen in decades and it began with individual acts of courage by hundreds of women, and some men, too, who came forward to tell their own stories," Time editor-in-chief Edward Felsenthal told NBC News, referring to them as the Silence Breakers.

As more people made their accusations public, other individuals also shared their own stories of assault and harassment, often with posts on social media platforms using the hashtag #MeToo.

"I could never had envisioned something that would change the world. I was trying to change my community," Tarana Burke, who created the hashtag, told NBC.

"This is just the start. It's not just a moment, it's a movement. Now the work really begins."

US President Donald Trump, who was Time's person of the year in 2016, was the first runner-up, followed by Chinese President Xi Jinping.

However most of Mr Trump's mentions as runner-up were to remind readers of his alleged sexual misconduct.

Mr Trump says he didn't want the title anyway. He posted to Twitter last week claiming he was teed up to take the title "like last year", but took a pass.

Other finalists included US Department of Justice Special Counsel Robert Mueller, who is leading the investigation of alleged Russian meddling in the election that Trump won; North Korean President Kim Jong-un; Wonder Woman director Patty Jenkins; and football player-turned-activist Colin Kaepernick.

Time's annual distinction recognises the person, group, thing or idea that it has determined had the greatest influence on events for the year.

Reuters / Newshub.