Why the European Union sees Samoa as a threat

Samoa has been added to an EU blacklist.
Samoa has been added to an EU blacklist. Photo credit: Getty.

Samoa has joined an EU blacklist, making it one of 23 countries recognised as "posing a threat" to others.

The European Commission announced on Wednesday that Samoa had been added to the list because of its controls against "terrorism financing" and "money laundering".

Saudi Arabia and Panama were also added to the list.

The European bloc's banks have to carry out "additional" checks on payments involving entities from listed nations.

The AAP reported that being on the list also causes reputational damage for the countries on it.

A total of 23 countries are listed. They are Afghanistan, American Samoa, the Bahamas, Botswana, North Korea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guam, Iran, Iraq, Libya, Nigeria, Pakistan, Panama, Puerto Rico, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Syria, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, US Virgin Islands and Yemen.