The Edge's Jono, Ben and Sharyn win big at the New Zealand Radio Awards

A microphone.
Photo credit: Getty

MediaWorks afternoon hosts won at the New Zealand Radio Awards, taking out the top spot for best non-breakfast team and best non-breakfast host.

The Edge's Jono, Ben and Sharyn took out best non-breakfast team (network), while The Edge content director Ryan Rathbone won best content director.

Jono, Ben and Sharyn, along with Dan Webby, also tied for the Blackie Award for their Deadpool Marathon, which won best video.

The Breeze afternoon host Robert Scott won best non-breakfast host (network) and The Breeze promotions team won best single market station promotion with the Royal Corgi Classic.

"New Zealand has one of the most diverse and competitive radio landscapes in the world which is one of the reasons all our radio stations stay so relevant to the daily lives of listeners," NZ radio awards chair Jana Rangooni said.

"The teams work hard and with a huge amount of passion. All the industry deserves credit for that, as well as tonight's winners."

The Rock Driver producer Jeremy Pickford won best show producer - music show and The Rock 1500 won best music feature or recorded live music event.

The Edge Network won best digital and best community campaign for five marathons in five days. Host Dominic Harvey also won a special recognition award for his efforts.

Local stations More FM Rodney and More FM Manawatu won best music host or team - non-surveyed market and station of the year - surveyed market.  

MediaWorks' creative staff won in four categories for single commercials or campaigns, production and voice talent.


Contact Newshub with your story tips: