Silver Scroll Awards 2023: The Beths win top award for 'Expert in a Dying Field'

The Beths have won the 2023 APRA Silver Scroll for their song 'Expert in a Dying Field'.

The awards were handed out on Wednesday night at Auckland's Spark Arena in an event that also saw Don McGlashan inducted into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame.

Beths songwriter Liz Stokes said their song was their "best shot" at winning after having been finalists three prior times.

"We did it, we won! This means a lot, I really wanted one of these," she said. 

"You never think you're going to win the Scroll, I felt confident that it was a good song, and it was the best shot we've ever had. Winning the APRA Silver Scroll is extremely exciting, it means a lot to be alongside all these musicians on the trophy; they're all so good and now we get to be on it as well. To be voted by other musicians is really special, so thank you to all the songwriters, thank you for your lovely votes."

Other finalists this year included Marlon Williams, Avantdale Bowling Club, Unknown Mortal Orchestra and Tiny Ruins.

McGlashan's induction into the Hall of Fame is his latest achievement in a career that has seen him often celebrated for work as a songwriter, composer, singer and multi-instrumentalist. As part of The Mutton Birds he released four NZ top ten albums and won multiple awards including Album of the Year at the NZ Music Awards, and an APRA Silver Scroll Award in 1994 for 'Anchor Me'.

The full list of winners at the 2023 APRA Silver Scroll Awards

APRA Silver Scroll Award | Kaitito Kaiaka winner

  • 'Expert in a Dying Field' written by Elizabeth Stokes, Jonathan Pearce, Benjamin Sinclair, Tristan Deck

APRA Maioha Award | Tohu Maioha winner

  • 'Me Pēhea Rā' written by Mohi Allen, Hēmi Kelly, Amy Boroevich, Noema Te Hau III

SOUNZ Contemporary Award | Te Tohu Auaha winner

  • 'Requiem' by Victoria Kelly based on poetry by Bill Manhire, Sam Hunt, Ian Wedde, Chloe Honum & James K Baxter

APRA Best Original Music In A Series Award | Tohu Paerangi winner

  • Tom McLeod for 'Blood, Sex & Royalty'

APRA Best Original Music In A Film Award | Tohu Pūmanawa winner

  • Karl Sölve Steven for The Subtle Art of Not Giving a #@%!

NZ Music Hall of Fame | Te Whare Taonga Puoro o Aotearoa inductee

  • Don McGlashan