Labour MP Tamati Coffey to retire from Parliament at election

  • 10/03/2023
He's just made the announcement.
He's just made the announcement. Photo credit: Getty Images.

Labour MP Tamati Coffey will retire from Parliament at the election.

First elected in 2017 as the MP for Waiariki, Coffey lost the electorate seat at the 2020 election to Te Pāti Māori's Rawiri Waititi. However, his list placing meant he returned to Parliament. 

In a statement on Friday, Coffey said the birth of his second child had led him to reprioritise where he wants to put his energy - "and that's into our two kids, Tūtānekai and Taitimu". 

"From being with the Prime Minister and Minister Allan just this week seeing the Taupō town centre come to fruition with huge support from Ngati Tuwharetoa, to helping Eastern Bay whānau through Whakaari and launching free healthy lunches with then Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern at Kaitao Intermediate, we have delivered for Waiariki.

"I will always be proud of being part of a Labour Government that genuinely works alongside and combines strengths with iwi and local communities to ensure all New Zealanders emerge stronger."

Coffey called it an "amazing journey" working on a Member's Bill to streamline surrogacy arrangements. 

I remain honoured to have worked with a wide variety of families with lived experience, and surrogacy experts to create modern laws for modern families that I hope will come to pass before the House rises.

"While I entered in 2017, campaigning hard to help tackle our local housing crisis, we've since seen record investment in Māori and locally-led housing solutions, including papakainga from Rotorua to the Western Bay.

"For Rotorua alone, there's also 260 more state houses, with 300 more on the way, half the amount of people in emergency housing than there was a year ago, and an active plan underway to exit emergency hotels.

Other Labour MPs to announce their upcoming retirement include former Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern, former ministers Poto Williams, Aupito William Sio, and David Clark, and MPs Marja Lubeck, Jamie Strange and Paul Eagle.

Coffey will remain an MP until the October election.