Blackcaps vs India: New Zealand hold on to win T20 series in Hamilton

The Blackcaps have held their nerve in a close finish to beat India in the final T20 to take out their series 2-1.

The home side lost the toss and were sent in to bat, a decision India immediately rued.

Openers Tim Seifert (43) and Colin Munro (72) put on an opening wicket partnership of 80 runs off little more than seven overs to lay the perfect foundation for the rest of the side.

And their teammates captialised. Ccaptain Kane Williamson (27) and Colin de Grandhomme (30) did their part, before Daryl Mitchell (19no) and Ross Taylor (14no) finished off the Blackcaps' most complete batting performance this tour to score 212/4 off 20 overs.

Kuldeep Yadav (2/26) and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (1/37) were the pick of the bowlers for India.

In reply, India always seemed a step behind. Shikhar Dhawan (5) went early, before Rohit Sharma (38) and Vijay Shankar (43) put on 75 runs for the second wicket to get the visitors back in the game.

Rishabh Pant put on a clinic of power hitting during his short stay, scoring 28 runs off just 12 balls.

Dinesh Karthik (33 no) and Krunal Pandya (26 no) brought India into a winning position, needing 16 runs to win off the last over.

But Blackcaps veteran bowler Tim Southee held his nerve to take the victory on the night and a 2-1 series victory.

Blackcaps spinners with Mitch Santner and Ish Sodhi had a night to forget, conceding 62 runs off their five overs.

But young pace bowlers Scott Kuggeleijn (1/37) and debutant Blair Tickner (1/34) kept their side in the contest, breaking key partnerships throughout the innings.

The Blackcaps will now turn their attention to the ODI series against Bangladesh starting on Wednesday.


Join us at 2pm Wednesday for the first Blackcaps vs Bangaldesh ODI in Napier.

Contact Newshub with your story tips: