Mitre 10 Cup: Hawke's Bay claim championship title from Northland

Hawke's Bay have capped off their remarkable Mitre 10 Cup season with a clinical victory to claim the Championship title, beating Northland 36-24 in the final. 

The home side put on a stunning second-half performance to score three tries to one and run away convincing winners in Napier. 

The Ranfurly Shield holders have been the best side in the championship by some margin and won promotion to the Premiership for the third time.

The defence went missing in the first half and the Taniwha got the final's opening try, when Luatangi Li crashed over after just five minutes. 

The home side responded quickly and scored two tries in four minutes through Jonah Lowe and Neria Fomai to put the table-topping Magpies back in front. 

Northland then got two tries on the trot through Will Grant and Tom Robinson to put the underdogs back in front. 

The hosts struck back on the stroke of halftime through Lolagi Visinia and the sides went into the break level. 

The second half was a masterclass from the Bay, who scored three tries through Jonah Lowe, Neria Fomai and Ash Dixon. 

The Taniwha got a late consolation try through Tamati Tua, but it wasn't to be for the away side. 

Hawke's Bay 36 (Lowe 2, Fomai 2, Visinia, Dixon tries; McClutchie 3 conversions) Northland 24 (Li, Grant, Robinson, Tua tries; Hawkins conversion, Cooper conversion)