Blackcaps v India: NZ implode in second one day international, slip to heavy defeat to surrender series

The Blackcaps have surrendered their one-day series to India, falling to an emphatic eight-wicket defeat to the hosts at Raipur.

After losing the toss and being asked to bat first, New Zealand could only muster 108 all out, batting just 34.3 of their 50 overs.

With a half-century from captain Rohit Sharma (51), India walked down the total with eight wickets and 179 balls to spare, reaching 111/2 in the 21st over.

New Zealand's woes began in the opening over, when Finn Allen was bowled by Mohammed Shami (3/18) for a five-ball duck, as the Blackcaps top order wilted against the new ball.

Devon Conway (7), Henry Nicholls (2), Daryl Mitchell (1) and captain Tom Latham (1) all fell for single figure scores, as the Blackcaps were reduced to 15/5 inside the opening overs.

New Zealand's only resistance came in the shape of Glenn Phillips (36), who added 41 runs for the sixth wicket with Michael Bracewell (22) and 47 for the seventh wicket with Mitchell Santner (27).

But those three were the only Blackcaps to reach double figures, as the lower order fell to India's spinners.

Aside from Shami, Washington Sundar (2/7), Hardik Pandya (2/16), Mohammed Siraj (1/10), Shardul Thakur (1/26) and Kuldeep Yadav (1/29) chipped in with the ball, as all of India's bowlers took at least one wicket.

In reply, Sharma reached his fifty in 47 balls, with seven boundaries and two sixes, as part of an opening stand of 72 with Shubman Gill (40 not out) that ate up most of the Kiwi total.

The only bright spot with the ball for New Zealand came when Henry Shipley trapped Sharma in front, registering his first international wicket.

Santner also struck to remove Virat Kohli, stumped by Latham for 11, as Ishan Kishan (eight not out) finished the job for the hosts.

The victory sees India wrap up the three-match series with a game to spare and was the hosts' seventh consecutive bilateral ODI series victory, as the perfect build-up to the 2023 Cricket World Cup to be staged there later this year.

The series concludes on Tuesday night (NZ time) with the third and final game in Indore, before a three match Twenty20 International series

NZ 108 all out (Phillips 36; Shami 3/18) India 111/2 (Sharma 51; Santner 1/28)

India win by eight wickets