Rugby: Black Ferns' first fixtures of 2024 confirmed as dates for Pacific Four series locked in

The Black Ferns' first fixtures of 2024 have been confirmed.
The Black Ferns' first fixtures of 2024 have been confirmed. Photo credit: Getty Images

The world champion Black Ferns' first fixtures of 2024 have been locked in, as the Pacific Four series returns for another year.  

Now into its fourth iteration, the Pacific Four will pit New Zealand against trans-Tasman rivals Australia, as well as the North American duo of Canada and USA.  

While venues are still to be finalised, the Black Ferns will play their three Pacific Four fixtures at home, taking on USA on May 11, Canada on May 19, and Australia on May 25.  

The first test against Australia will also be part of the Laurie O'Reilly Cup, before a return leg across the Tasman on July 14.  

"We are grateful to be in a position to have our opening tests confirmed for this year," said director of rugby Allan Bunting. 

"We saw how competitive Australia and Canada were against the northern hemisphere teams during WXV1, so it makes for an exciting series, alongside qualification for WXV1 once again."  

The Pacific Four series will also double as qualification for the second edition of WXV1, with the top three sides progressing to face the best of the Northern Hemisphere later this year. 

Pacific Four schedule:  

Round 1: USA v Canada - Saturday 27 April  

Round 2: Black Ferns v USA, Australia v Canada - Saturday 11 May  

Round 3: Australia v USA - Friday 17 May, Black Ferns v Canada - Sunday 19 May  

Round 4: Black Ferns v Australia - Saturday 25 May  

O'Reilly Cup: Australia v Black Ferns - Sunday 14 July