Live updates: Super Rugby Pacific - Blues v Fijian Drua from Whangārei's Semenoff Stadium

  • 24/02/2024

Live coverage has concluded, click here for the full wrap

Kia ora, good afternoon and welcome to Newshub's live coverage of the Blues against Fijian Drua, from Whangārei's Semenoff Stadium.  

With Eden Park unavailable, the Blues have headed to Northland, where they'll begin their tenure under new coach Vern Cotter.  

The former Fiji mastermind is arguably the most high-profile coaching appointment among the New Zealand sides, and will want to start with intent in the post-Scott Robertson era.  

Dalton Papali'i will lead the side in the opening rounds of the new season, after regular captain Patrick Tuipulotu suffered a broken jaw in Japan.  

But even without their leader, the Blues still boast eight All Blacks in their starting lineup.  

The Drua meanwhile will look to build on their incredible 2023, helped with Fiji's performance at last year's World Cup in France.  

In just their second season of Super Rugby, the Drua reached the finals for the first time, courtesy of a top-eight finish.

Now, though, pressure will be on to continue that form, as well as improving their results outside of Fiji.

TAB odds: Blues $1.10, Drua $7, draw $26 


Blues: 1-Josh Fusitua, 2-Kurt Eklund, 3-Angus Ta'avao, 4-Sam Darry, 5-Josh Beehre, 6-Anton Segner, 7-Dalton Papali'i (c), 8-Hoskins Sotutu, 9-Finlay Christie, 10-Stephen Perofeta, 11-Caleb Clarke, 12-Harry Plummer, 13-Rieko Ioane, 14-Mark Telea, 15-Zarn Sullivan

Reserves: 16-Ricky Riccitelli, 17-Jordan Lay, 18-Marcel Renata, 19-Laghlan McWhannell, 20-Adrian Choat, 21-Sam Nock, 22-AJ Lam, 23-Caleb Forbes 

Fijian Drua: 1-Livai Natave, 2-Tevita Ikanivere, 3-Mesake Doge, 4-Isoa Nasilasila, 5-Ratu Rotuisolia, 6-Etonia Waqa, 7-Elia Canakaivata, 8-Meli Derenalagi, 9-Frank Lomani, 10-Isaiah Ravula, 11-Selestino Ravutaumada, 12-Apisalome Vota, 13-Iosefo Masi, 14-Epeli Momo, 15-Isikeli Rabitu

Reserves: 16-Mesulame Dolokoto, 17-Emosi Tuqiri, 18-Ione Koroiduadua, 19-Mesake Vocevoce, 20-Vilive Miramira, 21-Peni Matawalu, 22-Kemu Valetini, 23-Tuidraki Samusamuvodre