Super Rugby Pacific: Semi-final team announcements

The latest line-ups and injuries for all NZ franchises playing in the Super Rugby Pacific semi-finals.

Blues vs Brumbies 

7:05pm Friday, June 14

Eden Park, Auckland

The Blues have made just one enforced change to their starting line-up to face the Australians this weekend.

Lock Sam Darry has made a timely return to full fitness and steps in for captain Patrick Tuipulotu, who is out of action for 6-7 weeks, after suffering a knee injury during the quarter-final win over the Drua.

Blues lock Sam Darry.
Blues lock Sam Darry. Photo credit: Photosport

On the bench, James Thompson replaces Cameron Suafoa.

"We don't need to do anything drastically different, just because we're playing a semi-final," said coach Vern Cotter. 

"We know what's served us well this season, strong ballcarries, breakdown efficiency and astute decision making. Nothing changes on Friday night."

Blues: 1-Ofa Tu'ungafasi, 2-Ricky Riccitelli, 3-Marcel Renata, 4-Sam Darry, 5-Josh Beehre, 6-Akira Ioane, 7-Dalton Papali'i, 8-Hoskins Sotutu, 9-Finlay Christie, 10-Harry Plummer, 11-Caleb Clarke, 12-AJ Lam, 13-Rieko Ioane, 14-Mark Tele'a, 15-Stephen Perofeta

Reserves: 16-Kurt Eklund, 17-Joshua Fusitu'a, 18-Angus Ta'avao, 19-James Thompson, 20-Adrian Choat, 21-Taufa Funaki, 22-Corey Evans, 23-Cole Forbes

Hurricanes vs Chiefs

4:35pm Saturday, June 15

Sky Stadium, Wellington

All Blacks prop Tyrel Lomax returns for the Hurricanes, after spending five weeks on the sideline with bone bruising.

In-form loosehead prop Xavier Numia has been scratched with a calf injury. Pouri Rakete-Stones takes his place upfront.

The only other change to the starting XV sees captain Brad Shields return to blindside flanker, shifting Devan Flanders to the bench.

Tyrel Lomax in action for the Hurricanes.
Tyrel Lomax in action for the Hurricanes. Photo credit: Photosport

Meanwhile, Chiefs coach Clayton McMillan has stuck with the same matchday 23 that proved too strong for Queensland Reds last weekend.

Hurricanes: 1- Pouri Rakete-Stones, 2-Asafo Aumua, 3-Tyrel Lomax, 4-Justin Sangster, 5-Isaia Walker-Leawere, 6-Brad Shields (capt), 7-Peter Lakai, 8-Brayden Iose, 9-TJ Perenara, 10-Brett Cameron, 11-Salesi Rayasi, 12-Jordie Barrett, 13-Billy Proctor, 14-Josh Moorby, 15-Ruben Love

Reserves: 16-James O'Reilly, 17-Pouri Rakete-Stones, 18- Pasilio Tosi, 19-James Tucker, 20-Devan Flanders, 21-Du'Plessis Kirifi, 22-Richard Judd, 23- Bailyn Sullivan

Chiefs: 1-Aidan Ross, 2-Samisoni Taukei'aho, 3-George Dyer, 4-Jimmy Tupou, 5-Tupou Vaa'i, 6-Samipeni Finau, 7-Luke Jacobson (c), 8-Wallace Sititi, 9-Cortez Ratima, 10-Damian McKenzie, 11-Etene Nanai-Seturo, 12-Rameka Poihipi, 13-Anton Lienert-Brown, 14-Emoni Narawa, 15-Shaun Stevenson

Reserves: 16-Bradley Slater, 17-Jared Proffit, 18-Reuben O'Neill, 19-Naitoa Ah Kuoi, 20-Simon Parker, 21-Xavier Roe, 22-Quinn Tupaea, 23-Daniel Rona

Join Newshub for live updates of both Super Rugby Pacific semi-finals this weekend