Air New Zealand board adds Alison Gerry, Claudia Batten, Paul Goulter

Air New Zealand has appointed Alison Gerry, Claudia Batten and Paul Goulter as directors to its board, replacing three long-serving directors who are retiring this year. 

In a statement on Monday morning, the airline said these appointments will add "diverse and highly relevant skill sets".

Their positions will be effective after the 2021 Annual Shareholder Meeting (ASM) later this year.

Chairman Dame Therese Walsh said the appointments would add expertise to support Air NZ's 'Revive phase' following the COVID-19 pandemic, helping to prioritise people and customers as well as invest in "digital solutions that empower customers". 

"Alison Gerry is currently a director at ANZ Bank, Infratil, the founding Chair of Sharesies and is a director at Suncorp New Zealand," Dame Therese said. 

"The airline will benefit from her extensive experience in governance, capital management and audit and risk with those companies and via previous directorships at Spark, TVNZ, Kiwibank and Queenstown and Wellington Airports." 

Gerry will take over as chair of the audit and risk committee from Jan Dawson on her retirement. 

"Claudia Batten is the chair of Serko, a director at Vista Group New Zealand and the digital advisor to the Westpac board," Dame Therese said. 

"We look forward to leveraging Claudia's experience as a digital entrepreneur in the US, where she co-founded Victor and Spoils, the world's first advertising agency built on crowd-sourcing principles and one of the founders of gaming advertising network Massive Corporation."

"Paul Goulter is the National Secretary of NZEI Te Riu Roa, and a director of the Co-operative Bank," Dame Therese said. 

"Air NZ works closely with unions and will benefit from Paul's experience with unions here and in Australia over the last 40 years, including a period as Secretary of the New Zealand Council for Trade Unions and as general secretary of Finsec."

These appointments fill the vacancies created by the retirement of directors Dawson, Rob Jager and Linda Jenkinson, who will leave at the ASM.