Labour team reveal: Chris Hipkins unveils portfolios for each MP

The Labour Party just released its new line-up for Opposition, including the portfolios that each MP will take on.

A number of senior MPs have taken big falls, including Damien O'Connor, David Parker, and former deputy leader Kelvin Davis, each of whom are on the verge of being outside the top 20. 

On Labour's election list, O'Connor was ranked 10 (he's now 18), Parker was 13 (he's now 19), and Davis was second (he's now 20). Davis has previously said he won't be standing for re-election.  

Former Speaker Adrian Rurawhe is down to 28 - he was ranked 11 on the election list - while former minister Rino Tirikatene is at 29, down from 21.

There have been big promotions for the likes of Willie Jackson (5, up from 8), Kieran McAnulty (7, up from 16), and Ginny Andersen (9, up from 17).

Andersen's promotion comes despite a number of allegations from former volunteers and staffers who have made allegations of bullying and of toxic workplace behaviour. The MP has said she doesn't believe her workplace is toxic and she is not a bully. She has apologised to one teenage volunteer after a complaint about her behaviour on election night.

Speaking at a press conference after the release of the line-up, Labour leader Chris Hipkins said rankings don't matter as much in Opposition

"The line-up that I have just released today shows that every one of our MPs are going to be contributing," said Hipkins, who has previously spent nine years in Opposition.

"I have seen MPs from some of the lowest rankings make some of the biggest contributions to the Opposition effort".

Among his considerations in divvying out the portfolios was who the Opposition MP would be going up against from the Government, Hipkins said.

On whether any of his MPs had indicated they wanted to leave Parliament after Labour's election loss, Hipkins said that it was natural some "want to take the summer to contemplate, but no one has given a firm timeline for making decisions on that".

In a statement earlier, Hipkins said the team was "highly experienced and energised and looking forward to getting back to Parliament". 

"I am incredibly proud and humbled to have this team alongside me as we take up the important job of Opposition.

"The election didn’t go Labour’s way and we have work to do to make sure Kiwis know and feel that Labour backs them. I have absolute confidence our team will work with communities right across the country to build this support back. 

"With the start this coalition has had, it’s clear New Zealanders will need an Opposition that stands up for their values and what is right.

"Unfortunately, we’ve already seen a lack of moral compass in the coalition’s approach.

"This Labour team doesn’t just have experience, it has values and cares about all New Zealanders – not just a few."

The Labour statement said there are six women and four men in the party's top 10. It described this as a "diverse line-up and the front bench includes portfolios like climate change and children".

Here is the full list, including the full positions each MP has:

  1. Chris Hipkins (Leader, Ministerial Services, National Security and Intelligence)
  2. Carmel Sepuloni (Deputy Leader, Social Development, Pacific Peoples, Auckland Issues, Child Poverty Reduction)
  3. Grant Robertson (Finance, Racing)
  4. Dr Megan Woods (Climate Change, Energy, Resources)
  5. Willie Jackson (Maori Development, Broadcasting and Media, Employment)
  6. Ayesha Verrall (Health, Public Services, Wellington Issues)
  7. Kieran McAnulty (Shadow Leader of the House, Housing, Local Government, Regional Development)
  8. Willow-Jean Prime (Children, Youth)
  9. Ginny Andersen (Police, Prevention of Family and Sexual Violence, Social Investment)
  10. Jan Tinetti (Education, Women)
  11. Barbara Edmonds (Economic Development, Infrastructure)
  12. Peeni Henare (Defence, Sport and Recreation)
  13. Priyanca Radhakrishnan (Conservation, Disability Issues, NZSIS, GCSB)
  14. Jo Luxton (Agriculture, Bisosecurity, Rural Communities)
  15. Duncan Webb (Deputy Leader of the House, Justice, Regulation, Earthquake Commission, Christchurch Issues)
  16. Deborah Russell (Revenue, Science, Innovation and Technology)
  17. Rachel Brooking (Environment, Food Safety, Space)
  18. Damien O'Connor (Trade)
  19. David Parker (Foreign Affairs, Attorney General, Electoral Reform)
  20. Kelvin Davis (Maori-Crown Relations, Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations)
  21. Tangi Utikere (Chief Whip, Transport, Oceans and Fisheries)
  22. Camilla Belich (Junior Whip, Workplace Relations and Safety, Emergency Management)
  23. Arena Williams (Assistant Whip, Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Building and Construction, State Owned Enterprises)
  24. Phil Twyford (Immigration, Disarmament and Arms Control)
  25. Greg O'Connor (Assistant Speaker, Courts, Veterans)
  26. Jenny Salesa (Ethnic Communities, Customs)
  27. Rachel Boyack (ACC, Arts Culture, and Heritage, Animal Welfare)
  28. Adrian Rurawhe (Whanau Ora)
  29. Rino Tirikatene (Corrections, Land Information)
  30. Helen White (Community and Voluntary Sector, Small Business and Manufacturing)
  31. Ingrid Leary (Seniors, Mental Health)
  32. Lemauga Lydia Sosene (Internal Affairs)
  33. Reuben Davidson (Statistics, Digital Economy and Communications)
  34. Cushla Tangaere-Manuel (Tourism and Hospitality, Forestry, Cyclone Recovery)