Cricket: Blackcaps bat first in series-opening one day international after Sri Lanka win toss and bowl at Eden Park

The Blackcaps will bat first in the series opening one day international at Eden Park, after Sri Lanka captain Dasun Shanaka won the toss and opted to field first.

On Friday, New Zealand captain Tom Latham confirmed the pair of Chad Bowes and Rachin Ravindra would make their ODI debuts.

Canterbury batter Bowes, 30, will open the batting alongside Finn Allen, while Wellington all-rounder Ravindra, 23, takes the place of Michael Bracewell at No.7, after his late call-up to the Indian Premier League (IPL).

While making his ODI debut, Ravindra has already played test and T20 cricket for New Zealand. 

Will Young comes into the side at No.3 in place of regular captain Kane Williamson, one of several players missing on IPL duty.

Matt Henry and Blair Tickner both back up from the test series win earlier this week to lead the bowling attack, while Henry Shipley plays his first game on New Zealand soil after debuting in Pakistan earlier this year.

Ish Sodhi is the sole specialist spinner, while Ravindra and Glenn Phillips also provide Latham with bowling options in the absence of Mitchell Santner. 

Sri Lanka meanwhile have named Angelo Mathews to return to the ODI setup, after a two-year absence from 50 over cricket.

Wicketkeeper Kusal Mendis and bowlers Kasun Rajitha and Lahiru Kumara also back up from the test series to be included in Sri Lanka's XI.

Saturday's match doubles as a fundraising effort, raising money for communities impacted by Cyclone Gabrielle.

Blackcaps: 1-Finn Allen, 2-Chad Bowes, 3-Will Young, 4-Daryl Mitchell, 5-Tom Latham (c & wk), 6-Glenn Phillips, 7-Rachin Ravindra, 8-Henry Shipley, 9-Ish Sodhi, 10-Matt Henry, 11-Blair Tickner

Sri Lanka: 1-Nuwanidu Fernando, 2-Pathum Nissanka, 3-Kusal Mendis (wk), 4-Charith Asalanka, 5-Angelo Mathews, 6-Dasun Shanaka (c), 7-Wanindu Hasaranga, 8-Chamika Karunaratne, 9-Kasun Rajitha, 10-Lahiru Kumara, 11-Dilshan Madushanka