Live updates: Super Rugby Pacific - Highlanders v Moana Pasifika from Dunedin's Forsyth Barr Stadium

  • 24/02/2024

Live coverage has concluded, please click here for the full wrap

Kia ora, good evening and welcome to Newshub's live coverage of this Super Rugby Pacific encounter between the Highlanders and Moana Pasifika from Dunedin's Forsyth Barr Stadium.  

After both missed the finals in 2023, these two teams will want to start the season well to boost their chances of the playoffs this year.  

However, as seems to be the case with all sides in this year's competition, the Highlanders and Moana Pasifika have both made key additions in their off-seasons.  

While the Highlanders have lost All Blacks great Aaron Smith, the pair of Timoci Tavatavanawai and Jacob Ratumaitavuki-Kneepkens have travelled south from Moana Pasifika and the Blues respectively.  

Meanwhile, Moana Pasifika have secured another All Blacks legend, Tana Umaga, as their new head coach, while 2015 World Cup winner Julian Savea has moved north from the Hurricanes, as he hunts the competition's try-scoring record.

The Highlanders have recent history on their side against Moana Pasifika, winning last year's encounter 45-17 at Go Media Stadium.  

TAB odds: Highlanders $1.22, Moana Pasifika $4.20, draw $21  


Highlanders: 1-Daniel Lienert-Brown, 2-Henry Bell, 3-Saula Ma'u, 4-Pari Pari Parkinson, 5-Fabian Holland, 6-Sean Withy, 7-Billy Harmon (c), 8-Hugh Renton, 9-Folau Fakatava, 10-Rhys Patchell, 11-Jona Nareki, 12-Sam Gilbert, 13-Tanielu Tele'a, 14-Timoci Tavatavanawai, 15-Jacob Ratumaitavuki-Kneepkens

Reserves: 16-Jack Taylor, 17-Ayden Johnstone, 18-Jermaine Ainsley, 19-Oliver Haig, 20-Nikora Broughton, 21-Nathan Hastie, 22-Cameron Millar, 23-Jonah Lowe  

Moana Pasifika: 1-James Lay (c), 2-Sama Malolo, 3-Sione Mafileo, 4-Tom Savage, 5-Samuel Slade, 6-Miracle Faiilagi, 7-Alamanda Motuga, 8-Lotu Inisi, 9-Ereatara Enari, 10-William Havili, 11-Viliami Fine, 12-Julian Savea, 13-Pepesane Patafilo, 14-Nigel Ah Wong, 15-Danny Toala  

Reserves: 16-Samiuela Moli, 17-Abraham Pole, 18-Suetena Asomua, 19-Allan Craig, 20-Jacob Norris, 21-Aisea Halo, 22-D'Angelo Leuila, 23-Anzelo Tuitavuki